Women's Leadership Circle

Wendy McDonald Diversity Awards Reception 2019

Thursday, May 23, 2019
5:30 PM
Add to Calendar
Schedule:Registration & Reception:  5:30 - 6:00 p.m.
Awards Presentation:  6:00 - 6:45 p.m.
Reception & Networking:  6:45 - 7:30 p.m.
Sponsorship Opportunities
Wendy McDonald Diversity Awards

View Photos

Join us at the beautiful Telus Garden to celebrate outstanding women and champions of women in our community. The annual Wendy McDonald Diversity Awards recognize individuals who are working to promote and increase diversity in leadership positions.

Hosted by the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade's Women's Leadership Circle (WLC) Program, this will be an evening of celebration, conversations, and connections.

Why attend:

  • Meet past winners and learn about the outstanding contributions of the 2019 Wendy McDonald Diversity Award winners
  • Connect with WLC Advisory Committee Members and Directors of the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade
  • Learn about the Women's Leadership Circle's ongoing initiatives and plans for 2019

Meet the 2019 Wendy McDonald Awards Winners

Caroline MacGillivrayL. Scott ThomsonClaudia Lane SjobergCharleen TurnerLizzy Karp

Community Catalyst: Caroline MacGillivray, Founder/Executive Director, Beauty Night Society
Diversity Champion: L. Scott Thomson, President and CEO, Finning International Inc.
Entrepreneurial Innovation: Claudia Lane Sjoberg, President/Owner, Pedalheads
Outstanding Mentor or Sponsor: Charleen Turner, Client Relationship Executive, Sun Life Financial
Women to Watch: Lizzy Karp, Senior Manager, Distribution, Experiential & Engagement, TELUS STORYHIVE

Master of Ceremonies


Coleen Christie
News Anchor
Global TV

About the Awards:

Organized by the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade's Women's Leadership Circle, the Wendy McDonald Diversity Awards aim to increase the profile of outstanding women and champions of women in our community.

Now in it's fifth year, these annual awards are presented in honour of the late Wendy McDonald, a Canadian business icon who served as the first female Chair of the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade. Award categories include Diversity Champion, Community Catalyst, Entrepreneurial Innovation, Outstanding, Mentor/Sponsor, and Women to Watch.

2019 Judges:

  • Brenda Lea Brown, Senior Program Manager, Partnership & Marketing, British Columbia Securities Commission
  • Carolyn Cross, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ondine Biomedical Inc.
  • Fiona Douglas-Crampton, President and CEO, Dalai Lama Centre for Peace & Education
  • Jill Earthy, Chief Growth Officer, FrontFundr
  • Jan Grude, Senior Strategic Advisor, KPMG
  • Isabel Jackson, Counsel, Department of Justice
  • Don Kayne, Chief Executive Officer, Canfor
  • Kari LaMotte, Director, Engagement, Entrepreneurship@UBC
  • Careesa Liu, PhD Student and Researcher, Simon Fraser University
  • Brian Mukeswe, Electrical Engineering Consultant, Midgard Consulting Inc.
  • Kathy Parslow, Vice President, Claims and Driver Licensing, ICBC
  • Joan Sheehan, Senior Vice President, Sales, STEMCELL Technologies
  • Praveen Varshney, Director, Varshney Capital Group
  • David Vaughan, Director, Sales, TELUS
  • Kory Wilson, Executive Director, Indigenous Initiatives and Partnerships, BCIT
Supporting Sponsors:
Community Sponsor:
Catering Sponsor:
Media Partner:
Event Partner:
This event is presented by the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade's Women's Leadership Circle (WLC) Program. The WLC is an inclusive Program that recognizes the need for diversity in leadership. Launched in 2007, the WLC has grown to become one of the largest women's business networking groups in Canada. Based on the pillars of connections, conversations, recognition and advocacy, the WLC is engaged in the social, business and political communities in which the Board operates. Learn more at boardoftrade.com/programs.